aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2015-02-27 11:44:24 -0800
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2015-02-27 11:44:24 -0800
commitddbd2b7ad99a418c60397901a0f3c997d030c65e (patch)
tree0a37d2e3f11a73685c04afe0dff2903a12b5e165
parentc517d838eb7d07bbe9507871fab3931deccff539 (diff)
Code of Conflict
This file provides a basic guide for how to handle conflict resolution when it comes up in the development process. Acked-by: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com> Acked-by: Arjan van de Ven <arjanvandeven@gmail.com> Acked-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Acked-by: Chris Ball <chris@printf.net> Acked-by: Chris Mason <clm@fb.com> Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com> Acked-by: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com> Acked-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> Acked-by: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com> Acked-by: David Herrmann <dh.herrmann@gmail.com> Acked-by: Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com> Acked-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com> Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Acked-by: Gerd Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com> Acked-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@linaro.org> Acked-by: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> Acked-by: H Hartley Sweeten <hsweeten@visionengravers.com> Acked-by: Hannes Reinecke <hare@suse.de> Acked-by: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com> Acked-by: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com> Acked-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Acked-by: Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@kernel.org> Acked-by: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com> Acked-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Acked-by: Jes Sorensen <Jes.Sorensen@gmail.com> Acked-by: Johan Hedberg <johan.hedberg@intel.com> Acked-by: Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org> Acked-by: Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net> Acked-by: John W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com> Acked-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Acked-by: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org> Acked-by: Julia Lawall <julia.lawall@lip6.fr> Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Acked-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> Acked-by: Kristen Carlson Accardi <kristen@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com> Acked-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com> Acked-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> Acked-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@do-not-panic.com> Acked-by: Magnus Damm <damm@opensource.se> Acked-by: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org> Acked-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@osg.samsung.com> Acked-by: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com> Acked-by: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de> Acked-by: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net> Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael@kernel.org> Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Acked-by: Sachin Prabhu <sprabhu@redhat.com> Acked-by: Shuah Khan <shuahkh@osg.samsung.com> Acked-by: Simon Horman <horms@verge.net.au> Acked-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Acked-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org> Acked-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Acked-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de> Acked-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Acked-by: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu> Acked-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Acked-by: Willy Tarreau <w@1wt.eu> Acked-by: Zefan Li <lizefan@huawei.com> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
-rw-r--r--Documentation/CodeOfConflict27
1 files changed, 27 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/CodeOfConflict b/Documentation/CodeOfConflict
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..1684d0b
--- /dev/null
+++ b/Documentation/CodeOfConflict
@@ -0,0 +1,27 @@
+Code of Conflict
+----------------
+
+The Linux kernel development effort is a very personal process compared
+to "traditional" ways of developing software. Your code and ideas
+behind it will be carefully reviewed, often resulting in critique and
+criticism. The review will almost always require improvements to the
+code before it can be included in the kernel. Know that this happens
+because everyone involved wants to see the best possible solution for
+the overall success of Linux. This development process has been proven
+to create the most robust operating system kernel ever, and we do not
+want to do anything to cause the quality of submission and eventual
+result to ever decrease.
+
+If however, anyone feels personally abused, threatened, or otherwise
+uncomfortable due to this process, that is not acceptable. If so,
+please contact the Linux Foundation's Technical Advisory Board at
+<tab@lists.linux-foundation.org>, or the individual members, and they
+will work to resolve the issue to the best of their ability. For more
+information on who is on the Technical Advisory Board and what their
+role is, please see:
+ http://www.linuxfoundation.org/programs/advisory-councils/tab
+
+As a reviewer of code, please strive to keep things civil and focused on
+the technical issues involved. We are all humans, and frustrations can
+be high on both sides of the process. Try to keep in mind the immortal
+words of Bill and Ted, "Be excellent to each other."